What is a Channel?


Channels are a type of Chat that are linked directly to Teams.


Like Group Chats, Channels are great for longer discussions where a Feed post and comments are not suitable.


For more information on the difference between a Chat and a Channel click here.

  • How do you create a Channel?
  • Channel settings

The key difference between Group Chats and Channels is that Channels are tied to a specific Team in Blink, which allows the team members to join and leave as and when needed.


Channels are only available to companies on our Enterprise Tier or by special request. If you would like access to Channels, send an email to support@joinblink.com and we'll enable them for you.


When new people are added to  Team, they automatically join all of its Channels.


How do you create a Channel?

  • Creating a Channel is different from creating a Chat because it originates from a specific Team
  • Channels can only be created by Team Admins



If you have Channels enabled, follow these steps to create a Channel:

1. Go to Directory

2. Go to Teams

3. Select the Team you want to create a Channel for e.g. Customer Success



 



4. Click Create Channel

5. Give your new Channel a name, purpose and select followers 

If you leave the Select follower's box blank then ALL the Team members will be automatically made into followers

6. Click Create



Once a Channel is created, it sits within Chats and acts as another place for a Team to communicate. 


Channels can be used to discuss whatever you like. A Channel could be created for an upcoming piece of work, event, shared interest and so on. You can create multiple channels within each Team with various team members in each Channel.


Channel settings

Like Chats, each member can change the settings of the Channel - this includes making the Channel a Favourite and/or changing the Notifications toggle to @mentions only



.


The Team Admins can restrict messaging within the Channel, which means only the Admins can send messages in the Channel

  • Team Admins can delete the Channel for everyone.
  • Team Admins can remove members, whether they are part of the Team or Guests, at any point


Guests are defined as individuals who have been added to the Channel, but are NOT members of the Team - if they choose to leave, they will have to be re-invited to rejoin


Any member of the Team Channel has the ability to Invite Guests.


Each member can leave and rejoin a Channel at any time.



All future members of the Channel will have full access to the entire history of the Channel.



H
Harry is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.