With dynamic teams, users are automatically added and removed from teams based on their user profile. Saving you time managing teams and ensuring your workers have access to everything they need.
Who can use this feature?
- This feature can only be set up by a Blink Organization Admin.
- Available on our Enterprise and Enterprise Plus pricing plans.
TABLE OF CONTENTS
- Using the dynamic team builder
Check these first before you set up
- Ensure that each user has the correct Company Name, Job Title, Department, and Location.
- Make sure that editing of profile fields is restricted. You can do this from the User Privileges page in Admin.
Using the dynamic team builder
To access the builder, go to the Team profile page in admin and click on Dynamic membership rules in the menu.
The rule building page has three sections:
Section 1. This is where you build your rules.
Section 2. This is where you decide what to do with users that are already in your team but don't match the rules.
Section 3. This is where you can check that the new membership looks as you'd expect before saving your changes.
Section 1 - configure rules
Option 1 - Create a team with every single user in
Click on the Add everyone from Blink toggle. When enabled, you can not add any other rules to this team. All existing and any future users will be added to this team.
Option 2 - Building rules
You can define rules that look at a user's profile, and when their profile has the Company name, Job title, Location, or Department included in your rule, they are automatically added to the team.
Let's get started...
"I want to ensure that all users who have their 'Company name' set as 'Creators' are added to this Team." This would look like this:
"I want to ensure that all users who have their 'Company name' set as 'Creators' and their 'Location' set as 'London' are added to this Team." This would look like this:
"I want to ensure that all users who have their 'Company name' set as 'Creators' and their 'Location' set as 'London' or their 'Department' set as 'Testing' are added to this Team. This would look like this:
- Click on Select property... and select from the drop-down the profile field you want to use. You can only select one but can add more later.
- Once you've selected the property a new box will appear where you can select values. Click on this box and select as many values you want to include in your rule.
In this example, if we were to select Accounts and Design, then anyone from Accounts or Design would be added to the team, but users from Business Development or Customer Success would not be added.
- With our departments selected, we can now add a second property to further narrow down the users that will be added to this team.
Click on ADD
Once you click on Add, a new line will appear as shown below:
Note AND, written before the property selector. This that the users in your team will have to be in either the Design or Accounts department AND match the properties and value you set on this row.
Follow the same steps as we've just been through, starting by selecting your property and then the values for that property.
In this example, any user in my organization who is in either the Design or Accounts department and is located in Australia would be added to this team.
You can go on to add a row for each property as shown here
In this example, any user who is in the Design or Accounts department, located in Sydney and working for Super Smashing Ltd with the job title Account Director would be added to the team. If one or more of those values was not on their profile, they would not be added.
So a member of the design department, located in Australia working for Super Smashing Ltd whose job title was Designer would not be added.
Section 2 - Decide what to do with existing members
Next, you need to decide what to do with your existing users. This step must be completed before you finish and save your changes.
There are two options:
Option 1 - Keep existing members in Team
Any existing members that do not match the most recent rules will become permanent members.
Option 2 - Remove anyone that doesn't match the rules
If a user who is currently in the team no longer matches the rules you've set, they will be removed immediately.
Section 3 - Validate your rules
Lastly, you can see who will be added and removed from your team based on your new rules. If everything looks correct click "Update Members". You'll be shown a confirmation modal