Protected Content

Secure a page on the Hub so users will need to verify their identity

Updated over a week ago

Introduction

Protecting content can help you do two things:

  1. Confirm the identity of the user accessing the content by requiring them to use biometric authentication such as fingerprint and facial recognition scans or another secure form of mobile authentication.

  2. Increase security by ensuring those accessing the content are not using an outdated operating system.

Setting up a protected Hub content policy for your organization

This section describes how to configure the policy for your organization. How to protect content is described in the following section on this page.

  1. From the Org Setup section of the Admin portal

  2. Scroll down the page until you see the 'Protected Hub content policy' in the Content Security section.

  3. Click on Change

  4. A panel will open where you can set up what users must do to open protected content.

    • You can select Passcode and Biometrics.
      When enabled, users will have to confirm their identity via fingerprint and facial recognition scans or another secure form of mobile authentication to access the protected content.

    • You can also select Minimum OS Version. When selected, three boxes will appear where you can type in the minimum operating system that a user's device must meet for Apple iOS and Android SDK, including the Android Security Patch.
      When a user tries to open the protected content on their device, we will check that their Operating System is compliant with the versions you set here.

    • The table below shows some historic Android OS Versions and the SDK Versions that relate to each one. The table illustrates the format we accept for entering the Android SDK Version into Blink.

      It's important to refer to Android SDK for an up to date list of released versions.

  1. Once you're happy with the setup, click Update and you're done.

Protecting your Hub content

Protecting your Hub content couldn't be simpler!

  1. Locate the content you want to protect in Hub admin and click on the ··· menu

  2. Turn ON Protect File.

  3. Click Share or Update.

Your content is now protected with your policy.

The user experience when accessing protected content

Protected content in Hub is marked with a Protected label:

When you attempt to access protected content, you may be asked to update your Operating system to meet your company policy or to use the security set up on your device to proceed.

  • If your device is running an Operating System older than the one set by your company, you will be asked to update it and won't be able to access this content until you have done so:

  • If you do not have any security set up on your device, you will be asked to Secure your device and won't be able to access this content until that has happened.

🤔 Any problems, please get in touch with your manager.

FAQs

When I share protected content to Feed, does it remain protected?

Absolutely. Protected content previews will be hidden. Users will see an attachment on the feed post and must confirm their identity to preview the content.

Can users access protected content using a device in Kiosk mode?

Because Kiosk mode devices do not offer a way for users to confirm their identity, any protected content will not be visible when in kiosk mode.

However, if a kiosk mode does not have an up-to-date OS, it will restrict people from using this kiosk to access protected content.

Is content also protected on the desktop?

This feature only adds an extra layer of protection when content is accessed via a mobile device.

Did this answer your question?