Deactivate a user's account

Introduction

Blink administrators have permission to deactivate users' accounts. Whose account you can deactivate is based on your own permissions. So, no, you can't deactivate your bosses account ;)

Who can use this feature?

This feature is available to all organizations on Blink.
Organizations with User Provisioning (SCIM) enabled will require the users to be disabled from that service.

Deactivate an account

  1. Open the Users page of Admin
  2. Use the search box at the top of the table to find the user you need to deactivate and click on that user to visit their profile.
  3. Providing that you have the correct permission to do so, you will see the option to 'Disable User' on the right-hand side of this page.
  4. A confirmation will appear. Click the Disable User button to confirm that you wish to proceed.

Offboard users - A new feature coming soon!

User profiles will soon include more detail about their employment.

  • Start and last day - Two bits of data to give you a great overview of how long people remain in their role at your organization.
  • Reason for leaving - This will give you a better overview than ever before of why people leave the workforce.

How to offboard an employee.

  1. Open the Users page of Admin
  2. Use the search box at the top of the table to find the user you need to deactivate and click on that user to visit their profile.
  3. Providing that you have the correct permission to do so, you will see the option to 'Suspend or Offboard' on the right-hand side of this page.
  4. In the side panel, first select:
    1. No, they’re still an employee - Select this if they are still an employee and you simply want to disable their account temporarily.
    2. Yes, they have left - Select this if they are no longer an employee.
  5. Confirm if this user is a regrettable leaver
  6. (Optional) Include the reason for them leaving
  7. Select the Last day of this employee. Please note, that the day you select must be today or in the past.
  8. Confirm by clicking the 'Dismiss employee' button in the bottom-right of the side panel.

Accounts are suspended immediately.

  • The user will be suspended and they will be logged out immediately.
  • They will not be able to access anything on Blink.

Troubleshooting

How is this information used?
This data is used to help identify issues that lead to regrettable leavers.
Who can see this information?
The last day is shown on the profile to all admins. Reasons for leaving will only be visible to Organisation administrators.
What should I do if I’m unsure?
If you’re ever unsure how to use this screen, please contact your manager or HR department.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.