Introduction

There are four levels of administration, and each user role has a different level of permission to the different areas of Blink. Users can be Basic Users, Team Administrators, Content Moderators, or Organisation Administrators.

🔍 Overview of each role

Basic Users

This will be the majority of your users. They only have access to the main Blink app, so the Feed, Chats, Directory and Hub. Basic users will not be able to use the Admin portal and have restricted use of certain features.

Each team can have multiple administrators who get access to a few more features in the main apps and the Blink Admin portal.

They have access to the ‘Admin Panel’, but a restricted view of only the users within the Teams they’re part of. They can help you manage your organization on a local-level. We often see Team Leads, Supervisors, and Managers take on this role

Team Administrators may be assigned by other Team Administrators or an Organisation Administrator from within the Team profile in the Directory or in the Admin portal.

Team Admins can access and edit user profiles for those on their teams, but they cannot disable their profiles. Only Org Admins can disable users.

Content moderators have access to the ‘Admin Panel’ are able to add, edit, or delete any content in the Feed and Hub.

Organisation administrators have full access to all features in both the main apps and the Admin portal.

✏️ Changing/Assigning Roles

Assigning Team Administrators

  1. In the Admin panel, go to the "Teams" section and select the team you're working on.

  2. Scroll down to the "Current Team members" header. Search for the user you'd like to make an admin.

  3. Click on the ··· button next to a user’s name and select Grant Team Admin. This user will now be designated as a Team Admin.

Assigning other admin roles

All other administrator roles are assigned from a user’s profile in the Admin Panel instead of in the Teams view.

  1. Select the ‘Admin Panel’ and navigate to the "Users" section.

  2. Search for the user you'd like to update. Select their name to open their profile.

  3. Scroll to the bottom of the page to the drop-down labeled "Role" and select the admin role you'd like to grant to this user.

  4. Click "Save changes" to finalise the update.

⛔ Restricted features

Basic User

Team Admin

Content Moderator

Organisation Admin

Manage Team Membership

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Manage comments and posts

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Manage Hub

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Moderate Feed Posts

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Send Priority Feed Posts

No

Yes

Yes

Yes

Feature Feed Posts

No

No

Yes

Yes

🔏 Admin portal permissions

Team Admin

Content Moderator

Organisation Admin

Authentication

No

No

Yes

Company

No

Yes

Yes

Billing

No

No

Yes

Audit Log

No

No

Yes

Analytics

Yes

Yes

Yes

Hub

Yes

Yes

Yes

App Management

No

Yes

Yes

Key Contacts

No

No

Yes

Teams & Team Profiles

Yes

Yes

Yes

Import Users

No

No

Yes

Invite Users

Yes

Yes

Yes

Users & User Profiles

Yes

No

Yes

Did this answer your question?